A Bit of Writing, Part 3: Spoken Word Poetry: “The Reason I Live”

This image is from http://www.bestfreechristian.com/ if you want to know more about where I get the clip art I use!!

Hi everyone,

Sorry I am a bit late on the posting again. This poem came to me kind of suddenly when I was pondering what to write and it took a bit of editing to make it clearer and, consequently, more easily readable. Let me know what you think when you get the chance. Thanks!

But first, some notes are in order:

* Unless otherwise noted, all Scripture is taken from the New King James Version translation of the Bible.

+ Philippians 3:7

++ Matthew 5:3

+++ Jesus says “do not be afraid” many, many times in Scripture. There are so many times that the exact phrase appears in the Bible that listing them all would take hours. I leave you with this link and hope it will suffice, then!!

http://www.biblegateway.com/quicksearch/quicksearch=do+not+be+afraid&startnumber=1&limit=50&searchtype=phrase

That said, here is the poem I just finished.

The Reason I Live

Lately my life’s gotten complicated

But I’m blessed in spite of all the confusion

Yes, I’m blessed in spite of my wondering

‘Cause I know my God holds my future in His hands.

Safely and securely can I come to His throne

Knowing that my God made me ever His own

And He loves me and died for me to atone

For all of my sins and to give me hope.

Yes, by His death on the Cross and resurrection

My life has a goal, a reason and purpose,

Yes, I know I could live another life,

“But what things were gain to me, these I have counted loss for Christ.”*+

So I give and live my life to the glory of my Lord and Savior

A Princess answering to her God, Lord, and King forever.

Yes, indeed, I am His child and may seem a fool

But I prefer to serve the living God than to be Satan’s tool.

After all, if all is vain and nothing’s worth doing

Then why are we here? So we must exist for something.

I know what it is: it’s called God and His Kingdom

And I invite to come know His love through God the Son, Jesus.

That said, I don’t promise life will be perfect and easy,

But I can assure you He gives rest to the weak and weary.

Yes, ““Blessed are the poor in spirit, For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”++

Keep pressing on, and you’ll be blessed beyond measure.

I know I have, by the grace of God, and all I can say

Is I’m glad God gave me new life in my youngest days

For if He hadn’t, I don’t know where I’d be today.

Praise God, then, He did, and He can give you the same;

Just give Him your heart, your everything, and “do not be afraid”.+++

For, beloved one of God, it may not be easy, but the glory of God will be worth the pain

And when you get to Heaven you will spend forever with Him and His amazing grace…

Isn’t that something? I think it is.

Come and let Him lead you to Himself and what you’ll see is what you’ll get

And more when you let God show you He was, is, and will always be worth it.

One thought on “A Bit of Writing, Part 3: Spoken Word Poetry: “The Reason I Live”

Leave a Reply

