Lessons from my God, My Human Family Members, and my Furry Family Members (My Dogs)

*Note: I will post the French version separately tomorrow.

Hi everyone,

I’ve been wanting to write this for a while, but decided today was the perfect day to do so after spending the two Saturdays last month at my grandmother’s new apartment and helping her get organized. I’ve also been busy since then, but admit I should have made some time to write, so apologize for that and for writer’s block. After all, I am relatively young and, while I have been busy with job-hunting, post-grad academic plans and the like, I can still make time for family and friends. This includes, of course, church involvement, so that is taking up some time as well- all of which is worth doing, thanks be to God!

All told, I’ve learned much over the summer, especially from my grandmother, my immediate family – including our dogs- and I think I can record them in an organized and coherent manner now. Consequently, I hope to encourage y’all along the way!

So, I’ve learned – or rather relearned every day- what follows:

1. Work hard. God gave us work for a reason. When we were created, we were meant to be in relationship with Him and advance His Kingdom on Earth from the first day we were created. (Genesis 1, Matthew 28, John 21, Acts 1-3 and 17, among other verses). That means we don’t give up doing His work and repent of the times we slack off, allowing Him to transform us and mold us into His likeness more and more every day. (2 Corinthians 4:8-18, Philippians 1:3-12). Mom, I admit, is a great example of this thought in action, as was and is my maternal grandmother. They are two of the hardest-working people I know and they both love the Lord. What more could I ask for in terms of Godly examples besides God Himself?

2. Play hard. The family puppies, my sister’s Reilly and my Camille, are the best examples I know of this thought in action when they are not in training or engaged in other activities! Their close friendship leads to a lot of playtime and they enjoy the freedom they have in being with one another- just being with one another and enjoying each other’s company. For me, that takes a more serious and reflective turn instead of a playful one. I’m thinking of these verses chiefly:

As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home.39 Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. 40 But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.”

41 But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! 42 There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”” – Luke 10:38-42,NLT (emphases mine)

That. That’s it. I want to be more like Mary. Yes, Martha had her virtues, but she got caught up in the details of serving God rather than just doing it, which leads to my third lesson.

3. Trust God with everything you are and all you have. Going back to points 1 and 2, I think that’s that. I have a lot more to say, but think I will conclude the entry here because it would get boring and my point would be lost. All told, I hope you learned as much as I did and are encouraged! Thanks for reading my blog once again as well!

God Bless, like always,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

