On Good Friday and The Word As A Fire in One’s Bones

But if I say I’ll never mention the Lord
    or speak in his name,
his word burns in my heart like a fire.
    It’s like a fire in my bones!
I am worn out trying to hold it in!
    I can’t do it!” – Jeremiah 20:9, NLT

Hi everyone:

Yup. That’s exactly what’s happening to me right now. I didn’t want to do anything much on Good Friday but to rest in God’s Truth and His Passion for us all. What a wonderful act of sacrifice and yet a heartbreaking one. That a Man Who was innocent of all wrongfoing- God Himself- should live among us and die as a common criminal of His day and, worse, a blaspehemous one at that in the eyes of Jewish and Roman religious and civic leaders, is surprising at best and downright shocking and earth-shaking at worst. Good! Maybe the worst is the best thing that could happen to many. After all, Jesus said that He would die to take away our sins and rise again. He did!

No wonder Jeremiah, also known as “The Weeping Prophet” since he transcribed both Jeremiah and Lamentations under the direct calling of God, couln’t keep the Word down in His heart! I, for one, am thankful because I am writing this entry. Thinking further on the situation, what better way to live than to know God? Jeremiah may not have thought so at times, but God sure loved and used him to reach many. I pray you will reflect on the same today, as have I, and am once again floored by God’s immeasurable grace and love when He could have wrought justice on those who deserved it- all humankind. Instead, He took our sin on Him. See Isaiah 53, among other passages, on this history. 🙂

Finally, I encourage you to do some reading. Be it the Bible, a book, a magazine article, a web page you might like, what’s stopping any of us?

God Bless and Happy Good Friday,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

