Spoken Word Poetry: Part 7 (?): You Matter To Me

Hi everyone!

Once again, I find my writing comes back in the strangest of places….well, okay, church isn’t that strange, but my email inbox is! Oddly, courtesy of Peter Hollens, I found writing flowing like a river, again. I have yet to finish my previous work, which you saw if you read my previous post. If not, the link is below and I think you’ll see why I believe it is unfinished. (Then again, a true artist’s work is never really done, is it?)

https://mademoisellemichelle1990.wordpress.com/2017/04/30/when-inspiration-calls/

That said, finding inspiration in an email  and on Facebook (thanks to Peter and Evynne Hollens and Gary Turk, in fact) were odd occurrences at first, but not so now. Therefore, I’m just going to write and put it out there. All comments are welcome provided they are spam-free and appropriate for all eyes to read. Thanks and God Bless!

You Matter To Me

You matter to me, they tell me, and I tell them the same,

But what happens when I say it and my actions don’t change?/

What happens when someone asks for much-needed space

Or reaches out for connection and I regard each wish with a “nay?”/

What happens when I’ve isolated myself, caring for myself alone

And someday, I find that I truly end up on my own?/

When “You matter to me” becomes “You’re important only as I propose”

Is it any wonder that we soon think ourselves sinless and throw the first stone?

 

Let me, then, be the first to say I am sorry for the ways I’ve been

Thinking myself the victim of most predicaments I’m in./

No one deserves much of what I’ve done and I ask your forgiveness, please;

Yes, though I am human and need grace, I admit irresponsibility./

 

Friend, family member, past partner, coworker, or whomever you may be;

Please know that I mean what I say and I hope you accept my apology.

All I ask is one chance to show that I have changed my ways by God’s saving grace,

And I cannot guarantee that I’ll be perfect, but will do, by His grace, the best I can./

After all, He provided me love and salvation, so who am I to exclude any person?

And now, as I conclude, I feel a change taking place; yes, I’m finally set free!

I understand if you are skeptical, but I ask for you to take a chance on me/

And believe me when I say I will take a chance on you, too.

For I believe God meant it when He said, “Come to Me, all of you

Who are weary, tired, anxious, hopeless, and seeking life anew.”

Friends, perhaps I am alone, but I date to ask: why not start anew?

What would happen if we were honest and lived out the Golden Rule?/

To do so won’t be easy, this I grant for sure,

But to do so is worth more than anything we all dare to hope could provide more./

I say this because God has once again made clear that I matter to Him,

So, reminded of this, I feel there is something to be said of it.

 

Finally, just so you know, before you go, you matter to me

And I pray you found yourself encouraged whether you believe./

Thank you, dear readers, for taking the time to read the words I typed,

And I pray you know you matter as you slumber, or perhaps arise./

May God give you strength and courage to conquer the days to which you wake

And know that you are loved, no matter what happens each day you will face./

I pray that as I conclude this poem tonight that God gives you strength

To live out each day aware that you are worth it all, no matter what living this life takes.
Thanks again and God Bless,

Michelle

 

 

Leave a Reply

